How to stop “Memories” alerts from iPhone photos

If you have an iPhone running iOS 12 or later, the Photos app has probably alerted you that “You have a new memory” on that day or that, in the form of photos and videos that you previously recorded on your Camera Roll. While some people may find these alerts – and the automatically organized slideshows or video replays that ensue – charming nostalgic, for others they can be heartbreaking reminders of people who are no longer in their lives, lost pets or unpleasant events.

We’re looking to make a trip down memory lane less painful for iPhone users. Here’s how to turn off iPhone memory alerts.

Souvenirs “For you”

In iPhone’s Photos app, at the bottom of the screen, you’ll see a “For You” tab. If you click on it, you will see your automatically generated “Memories” collections.


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

Although it is different for everyone depending on the content of their film roll, these can be categorized into categories such as “Pet Friends” or “Portraits” and events such as “Lunch in New York”, as well as events. places and dates.

Your iPhone will occasionally send you a “You have new memory” notification that prompts you to view a particular slideshow. But it is possible to prevent this from happening.

Stop “You have a new memory” iPhone photo notifications

To end memory alerts, you need to take a quick tour of your iPhone’s Settings app. Go to the Notifications section and scroll down until you see Photos. Tap on it. In the next screen, tap “Personalize notifications” at the bottom.

Arrow pointing to "Customize notifications"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

You will now see options to turn off notifications for Memories, Shared Albums, and Share Suggestions.

To extinguish "Souvenirs" in "Customize notifications"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

Just turn Memories off (so it’s no longer green) and those potentially painful Memories notifications will be turned off.

You should know that this doesn’t turn off the Auto Memories feature, which will always appear in the “For You” tab of the Photos app, but it’s up to you if you want to explore this content.

A more targeted approach to stopping Memories notifications for certain people and dates

Turning off notifications from Memories completely is a very blunt tool that will shut down all future notifications, but if it’s just a certain person or date that’s a trigger for you, there is a method. more advanced that you can use.

You can ask your iPhone Photos app to show someone less or never in Memories notifications. To do this, head over to the Photos app and tap on the “Albums” tab at the bottom of your iPhone screen. Scroll down to see the “People and Places” section and tap “People”.

This will bring up thumbnails of all the people whose photos you have the most. Tap the thumbnail of the person you don’t want to receive Memories notifications from, and in the next screen, tap the three-dot menu at the top right of your screen.

In the next menu that appears, tap “Underscore this person”.

Boris Johnson and the option of "Characteristic This person less"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

You will now have two options. The first is to choose to feature this person less often, which means that person’s individual photos and videos will not be displayed, although they may appear in group photos.

Boris Johnson and the choices of "Characteristic This person less" Where "Never introduce this person"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

The other option is to “Never introduce this person”, which means that no photo of this person will ever appear in your memory again.

You can do the same with the dates. On the ‘For You’ tab, when you see a date you don’t want a Memories reminder for, tap the three dot menu and choose ‘Less options’.

Show option at "Less features" Where "Delete memory"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

This will ensure that dates that have disturbing connotations will not be highlighted by the Memories feature in your Photos app.

SEE ALSO:

7 monitors photo editors will love

What happens if you change your mind?

If you’ve changed your mind about any of the changes to your Photos app, you can simply reset your settings.

Arrow indicating the option of "Reset suggested memories"


Credit: Screenshot: Apple

Just go to your Settings app and scroll down to Photos, then tap “Reset Suggested Memories”.

Jack C. Nugent