How to delete a photo or video from an Instagram carousel

One of Instagram’s latest features is probably the one it should have had years ago: the ability to remove a photo or video from a post that contains more than one.

So if you are someone who fell in love with a picture (or a person) in one of your posts, but you didn’t trash it because you like the other pictures, it is Now is your chance to excise that malignant memory like a skilled social media surgeon.

For those unfamiliar with the term, a carousel is a single Instagram post containing two to 10 images or videos. They’ve been around since 2017, but it’s only this week that Instagram manager Adam Mosseri announced that users can now delete any of these items without deleting the entire post.

We’ll start by noting that you can’t remove an image from a two-photo carousel, potentially because doing so would make it a single-item post and mess up something inside Instagram, although we can’t. say it with certainty. These steps will only work with a post that has three or more media.

First, go to the post and press the three points in the upper right corner of your screen. Ignore the bright red “delete” option, press Edit and scroll to the image or video you want to send to the trash. Now tap the small trash can icon in the upper left corner of the image. Instagram will ask if you really want to delete it, and you do, so tap To delete to confirm. Your problematic message has been cleaned up.

How to Recover Deleted Photos or Videos from Instagram

All deleted items will be kept in a folder within your settings for 30 days, and if you change your mind, you can get them back before that time expires. Or you can go in and delete them permanently so that you don’t be tempted to restore them at a later date.

To find them, go to your main Instagram profile page and tap the three lines in the upper right corner. Then go to Settings, Account, and Recently deleted. Now tap on the image you want and tap on the three points top right. You will have two options: Restore and To delete. Deleting anything from the recently deleted folder will erase it forever, while restoring it will put it back where it was, sort of.

We say “sort of” because if you delete an image from a carousel and then restore it, the photo will not revert to its original location in the schedule. It will appear at the very end. It might not matter, but if you’ve carefully curated a bunch of images to tell a specific story or exude a certain aesthetic, it could ruin that. And if that’s a problem for you, just reload the whole bundle – maybe you’ll get more likes this time around.

Jack C. Nugent